Vegan Hot Chocolate

Alright, winter weather. I’ve had just about enough out of you. I’m sick of getting snowed in at least one day a week. I’m sick of shoveling out parking spots (especially when some nasty woman in my apartment complex starts PULLING INTO A SPOT I DUG OUT WHILE I’M STANDING IN IT). I’m sick of getting stuck on NJ Transit trains and walking to work insanely slowly so I don’t slip and fall on the massive patches of ice on the sidewalk.

They’re calling for more awful weather overnight, so I’m hedging my bets that I’ll be working from home again tomorrow. Not that I don’t enjoy being able to work in sweatpants, but I tend to get a mild case of cabin fever when I’m holed up in my room for too long.

If it is in fact the case that I’m home tomorrow, I’ve already decided that I’m whipping up some of this vegan hot chocolate. Brittney (my lactose intolerant former co-worker/the inspiration for this blog’s name) moved into our second bedroom last month, and when we were snowed in together a couple of weeks ago, I decided to figure out how to make dairy-free hot chocolate—because, really, what’s a snow day without hot chocolate?

This recipe makes a single serving, but you can definitely multiply the amounts and store the mix in a jar. Just scoop out 1 1/2 tablespoons of mix and stir it into 4 to 6 ounces of dairy-free milk! Oh, and don’t forget the marshmallows. That’s the best part.

-Nicole

Vegan hot cocoa recipe

Vegan Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:
-1 tbsp. powdered sugar
-1/2 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
-1 tsp. cornstarch
-4 to 6 oz. milk of choice

Directions:

Combine sugar, cocoa powder and cornstarch in a small bowl. Set aside.

Heat milk for 1 minute in a microwave-safe mug.

Stir cocoa powder mixture into heated milk until dissolved. Serve with marshmallows.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

